Skip to content

Why I Serve: Kati Johnson and Jarvis Barnes

November 28, 2011

Kati Johnson serves at Sarah T. Reed High School. Jarvis Barnes serves at Renew Accelerated High School.

 

At the beginning of the year, corps members are asked to write a short “Why I Serve” statement, a reflection on why they decided to serve with City Year.  This year, City Year New Orleans corps members hail from 21 states.  They come to New Orleans to serve for many different reasons, but all have one thing in common: They all have the desire to leave the schools they serve in better than they found them. 

Over the next few months, we will be sharing a few of these “Why I Serve” statements with you, our blog readers.  In this first installment, we introduce you to Kati Johnson and Jarvis Barnes.

“Why I Serve”- Kati Johnson

I serve to make a difference in the lives of others, and to allow others to make a difference in my life. 

 

“Why I Serve”- Jarvis Barnes

When I see more African American males going to prison than to college, there is a problem! When I see more African American females giving birth before the age of eighteen than those graduating high school, there’s a problem! When I hear of people of color accounting for more than half of all reported HIV/AIDS cases in America, there is a problem. All of these actions are the result of one big problem and that is the lack of education!

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

