Skip to content

Morning Motivation

October 1, 2012

By Fidgi Simeon, Corps Member Proudly Serving on the Entergy Team at Samuel J. Green Charter School

My alarm goes off at 5:00 am and I ask myself, “What am I doing here?”

It is still dark, I’m coming off of five or six hours of sleep, and I struggle to wake up.  Nevertheless, it is my students I think of as I rise out of bed to serve another day at Samuel J. Green. As I go through my early morning routine, I mentally prepare myself for what is about to take place. Effective teaching of lessons, behavior management, tier two interventions, and maintaining a healthy relationship with my teacher throughout the day. So overwhelmed by it all, I pause for a brief moment and recite the Serenity Prayer:

Lord grant me serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and  the wisdom to know the difference.

It helps me get settled, but not as much as seeing my teammates pull up in front of my apartment.  It’s good to know that they are here with me.  I ride with my fellow corps members down St. Charles and take in everything around me: The beautiful scenery with the joggers brushing away past us, the early bird commuters aggressively driving  their way towards their destinations and, of course, the countless students in uniform waiting for their buses.

Once I arrive at Green, I stop by the teacher’s lounge and get my cup of coffee, perk up and welcome my students.  I am getting in the groove and get the students pumped up and excited to learn.  After my morning welcome, I walk up to my classroom and turn to see bright beautiful faces in their crisp white shirts tucked into their green, white and navy blue jumpers and khaki pants. I smile.

“Good morning boys and girls,” I say, and they reply in unison, “Good morning Ms. Simeon.”

I remember why I am here.

I am here to give my students what my parent, mentors, and teachers gave to me:  A love for myself and others, and a passion for learning. It is such a great blessing being in this experience. An opportunity like this does not come often.

So here I stand to serve another day at Samuel J. Green Charter School, and that’s a beautiful thing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

