Skip to content

The Power of Team

November 12, 2013

keep-calm-teamwork-makes-the-dream-work

It’s 5:00 p.m. and the Clark Prep team is sitting in the second floor hallway, punching out letters for bulletin boards. Somebody makes a joke about one of the many songs we hear from our students throughout the day and all of a sudden, what once was a really challenging Thursday becomes one of the best days I’ve had all week.

Working at a high school brings its own level of crazy sometimes but sitting around my team reminds me that everyone is dealing with the same kind of crazy. Our kids can decide to be our best friends or our enemies. It all just depends on their mood. But when I have time to really just gather around my team and recharge my battery I recognize the importance of allowing others to help you.

Help you work on what you’re doing, help you gain perspective on a situation you’re dealing with or just help you not take yourself too seriously.

City Year is an entity that functions because of team but we can often get lost in the individual tasks we’re doing. I find it’s important to remember that no matter how overwhelming things may be, the majority of the people on your team may have shared a similar experience. Before City Year, I put a lot of pressure on myself to get things done and I’ve now seen how much my stress level can decrease when I just let people assist me.

Team is a powerful thing.

Written by Brie Daniels

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

