Skip to content

100 Days Smarter, 100 Days Richer: Arthur Ashe Scholars Celebrate 100th Day of School

February 11, 2014

100-days-fullpageThe Kindergartners can hardly believe it – we’ve been in school for 100 DAYS! The idea of counting that high is overwhelming enough. To celebrate the 100th day, we had a daylong celebration to commemorate the event.

The kids were elated to do all sorts of activities involving the number 100. We started the day off asking, “What would YOU do if you had 100 dollars?” Needless to say, the answers were entertaining; perhaps my favorite response was,

“If I had 100 dollars, I would get a Bugatti.”

We decorated 100th day hats, went outside and took 100 steps, and colored a pizza with one hundred toppings. Not to mention our 100th day feast, where we counted out 100 snacks for each student! The sugar high was unavoidable.

As I watch the kids enjoying themselves, I can’t help but notice how much they’ve grown as students, both academically and socially. I know that they’re capable of anything that they dream, and I try to remind them of that regularly.

As I reflect on my 100th day of school, it’s hard to imagine life before my Kinder babies! I’ve grown more patient, responsible and mature thanks to this amazing experience.

It seems like the kids teach us as much as we teach them, and it’s beautiful to see their eyes sparkle when they grasp something completely new in the classroom.

 

Written by: Rosie Nolan

How did your school celebrate 100 days of school?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brie permalink
    February 16, 2014 6:41 pm

    Love this Rosie! Sounds like a very eventful day.

Leave a Reply

